Rabies Control 

Under Wisconsin state law, the local Health Officer shall require any dog or cat that bites a person to be quarantined for 10 days so that it can be observed for signs of Rabies. During the 10-day quarantine period, the dog or cat will need to be examined by a licensed veterinarian on the 1st day, the 10th day, and one intervening day of the quarantine period. If the animal is not current on its rabies vaccine, it will need to be quarantined at a licensed facility at the owner’s expense. View or print an informational brochure (PDF).rabies-signs-dogs-infographic

Exposure to Rabies

Wild Animals

If you or a pet were bitten by a wild animal, locate and safely capture the animal and call the health department. If the animal is dead, keep the body cold and do not discard the animal or damage the head. The health department will send it to the Wisconsin State Lab of Hygiene for rabies testing. Visit DHS for more information on rabies prevention. 


Bites and scratches from bats may go unnoticed if a person is sleeping, is very young, or is mentally incapacitated. The health department should be contacted if a bat is found in the same room with a young child, a sleeping person, or a mentally incapacitated adult. 

Milwaukee Area Domestic Animal Control Commission (MADACC)

Milwaukee Area Domestic Animal Control Commission (MADACC) was established in 1996 by 19 municipalities in Milwaukee County including South Milwaukee. MADACC provides animal control services for our city and much more including low cost vaccines, spay/neuter, and locating lost animals. Check out the Milwaukee Area Domestic Animal Control Commission website for more information.

Reminder: My License, Officer?

Dogs and Cats are required to be licensed annually. In order to license your dog or cat, it must be vaccinated against rabies. Visit the Milwaukee Area Domestic Animal Control Commission for information on dog or cat licensing and information on rabies vaccination.